QUILTS FOR COMFORT NORTHEAST

Quilts for Comfort Northeast – Meeting the challenge of bringing comfort one stitch at a time.

EASY PEASY PINCUSHION TUTORIAL

Leave a comment

As a Creative Friend I thought I ought to post something creative before the month comes to an end. So here’s how to make a very simple pincushion using scraps from you scrap basket. I start by tracing this template which is very much like a Dresden Blade onto both layers of my chosen fabric. (You can add some fusible interfacing if you would like a little more body to your pincushion.) I lay my fabric right sides together and trace.

After tracing the template I secure both layers with a couple of pins and cut on the traced line.

Now we can start machine sewing. Just like the Dresden Blades, fold your pieces lengthwise and sew across the top.

Clip the corner to reduce bulk.

Now turn you pieces right side out and work the points out. I use a blunt pencil for this task.

Now press the point flat.

Now with right sides together match both pieces and sew around the three raw side edges.

Clip the corners to reduce bulk. Now press again.

So now I fill the pincushion. I use a combination of wadding and I make a little pouch for bird grit. I know you think I’m nuts but I find the bird grit keeps your pins sharps and it helps keep the rust to a minimum plus it gives the pincushion some weight. You can fill your pincushion using your preferred recipe.

We’re almost finished now. Match the points and sew straight across so that your points can be flipped down.

Now that your pincushion filling has been secured you get to do the best part; the embellishing. I just added a little ribbon and a button to mine but the sky’s the limit. Go on dig around your stash and find some interesting things to add to yours.

I hope you all have a go at making this very simple project. And if you do make one please send photos and we’ll try to publish it. If you would like to use the template that I used please email me at lucie@mapleleafquilters.co.uk and I will email it to you.

Happy stitching.

Lucie the Happy Quilter XX

Author: Lucie the Happy Quilter

I'm passionate about quiltmaking and have in recent years taken up longarm quilting with a good degree of success. I was born and raised in Canada but I moved to England in the mid nineties. I love being creative and so I dabble in many different types of craft.

Leave a Reply

